Hi there.

I honestly don’t have anything good to say. I just felt the need to say hello. :) I will share with you (since it is Tuesday) that I have decided to make a few itty bitty life changes. Some that most people wouldn’t care or even think about, but that is kind of a big deal to me. One of these changes is to not wear makeup any longer. It was really hard for me to add this to my list. I am on day 5 of a bare face. I can already see it was a good decision. :)

I just want to start back to basics. I want to learn to love myself again, whether I wear makeup or dress as cute as my friends. I don’t want to work at getting people to like me or feed me compliments. I just want to be. And I want to feel good about it. It is time to love the simple me again and not be so concerned about trying to make a better outer shell of myself. That way I won’t be so distracted that I miss the other beautiful things in life. See the simple beauty in everyone.

You may wonder where this is coming from. What sparked this? Well, it has been on my heart for a while. I have noticed how consumed I had gotten with being a certain person to achieve a certain “thing.” I didn’t change sooner because, well, I knew it was going to take a lot of effort. About a month ago, I was informed of some changes taking place in the very near future that affected me directly. My life will be very different starting about mid August. It will be the start of many new things to come so I figured this is the best time to start living the way I want to. :)

This is obviously not something that I think everyone needs to do. I don’t plan on going crazy with this simple living stuff. I just need to gain a little perspective. I think it is healthy. Anyway, that is about all I am prepared to share at this point. I will be sharing a little bit of career news for you in the next few days. :)

Lastly…

I think it’s time to cut the bangs.

love, scout

34 comments
  1. kristin said:

    The whole ‘no make up thing’ gets easier with time. Well, actually I’m kind of backwards. I’m twenty and have only worn make up a handful of times. I don’t even wear foundation. It was just never my thing and I felt like a clown when I did wear it. I have other things to focus on such as college or helping kids to be concerned with it. But that’s just me :) Is it hard to manage bangs? I’m thinking about getting some for the first time since I was about four, and I’m a little scared. love, Kristin

    • Bangs aren’t that hard to manage. They are fun! :)

  2. Liz said:

    You are SO beautiful either way, and I’m not just saying that. Cheers to you for simplifying down to your standards and no one else’s. <3

  3. Rachel said:

    you’re a natural beauty, ms. erin :) good for you going makeup-free. it gets tiring putting it on (almost) every day just to take it off at the end of the day ^_^ …don’t want to ramble too much about myself so I’ll keep it short and sweet :)

  4. Cheray said:

    This post is lovely :)
    Living your life the way you want is so very important (& is something I have been neglecting). Good Luck with all of the changes you’ve got coming your way.
    Remember: Do what you Love & Love what you do :)
    Cheray x

  5. anna said:

    I just realized yesterday I haven’t worn makeup for at least a month. Life is so much simpler without it.

  6. back to basics. i like that. a lot.

    this was a great post, e. thanks for stopping to make me think about it.

    xx

    • No problem. You are soooo beautiful. You definitely don’t need makeup.

  7. Deborah Bunch said:

    Hi Erin…I just found your post tonight and thought I’d send you a note to let you know I have been thinking about you and Will. I pray everything is going well for you both and maybe you can come by for a visit soon. I’d love to catch up on what is cookin’ in your life. I love the close up photo of you. You are juust beautiful! Just as beautiful sans make up too!…………Love, Debbie

    • It’s cute that you read my blog. Thanks for your kind words. Hope you are well.

  8. it’s super good to appreciate who you are
    and focus in on who you were created to be.
    as of late i’ve had to step back and think about
    whats important in my life too.
    good to know i’m not alone.

    thanks for sharing.

    btw. i rarely wear makeup (mostly because i get freaked out with metal or brushes near my eyes haha) but my grandma is in her 80s and rarely wore makeup and her skin is GORGEOUS. :)

    • That is so encouraging! Thanks for sharing with me!

  9. Chloe said:

    OMG, thank you so much for saying this… It is very weird to me because I have been thinking a lot about makeup recently and wanted to stop wearing so much. But yet, I cannot quiet love myself without it because as you said it, I like people to like me! But this is not what I want and you really put the words in my mind!

    • Yes, you can really do this. You feel so comfortable with it in just a couple days. At least I did. :)

  10. Krysten said:

    Wow, kudos to you! That is such a brave thing with the society live in. I wish I was as brave as you!

  11. Ashley said:

    You are so gorgeous. I love this post… I’ve always hated wearing makeup but felt like I had to because I’m a girl, and that’s what girls are supposed to do. But now that I’m older, I only wear mascara and a mineral powder. I may even try to do less now that you inspired me :)

    • Aww, I am happy to hear that I inspired you. You are gorgeous enough that I am sure you don’t need anything. :)

    • Thank you! It’s been a wonderful experience just being bare. :)

  12. maggie said:

    i love this. you are a strong spirit with a good path to a balanced, joyful life. and…beautiful!

  13. Marielle said:

    Dear Erin,

    I am not a frequent reader, but I was surfing a bit and came along your blog and this post. I used to wear make-up every single day, and didn’t leave the house without any. At one point I decided to not wear any for more than a month, because I wanted to get rid of the insecurity and the part of identity that I was putting in superficial things. In the end I only grew stronger from it. Anyway, the point is that I understand what you are saying and I am happy you took the step. It takes courage. Self-growth is often hard but also pays off. I hope you find what you are looking for and wish you all the luck and encouragement.

    • Thank you so much! You words were really encouraging. :)

  14. Great to see another ‘real face’, and so much support for your decision! I haven’t worn make-up for years. There are more of us out there then you think, and we’re not all hippys! (But be prepared to be called that).

    You’ll save money, be able to rush out the door quicker, handbag will be lighter, jus the time alone, there are lots of positive reasons!!

    • Yes, I see this already. I am very happy with my decision and are making many other changes that feel great! Thanks for you sweet comment. :)

  15. Stefanie-Anne said:

    It’s so easy to get caught up in everything… isn’t it? I’m totally caught up in the whole makeup thing… I never used to wear makeup or do my hair but once i started… i definitely got much better reactions from everyone. it kind of makes me sad. and now i don’t really feel pretty without it. I just became single again so the thought of going bare is a bit scary… but I think i’ll try going without makeup for a while!

    But… I’m still doing my hair lol. One thing at a time! This has to be the most inspirational thing I’ve read in a while. THANK YOU :)

    Xo.

  16. Jenipher said:

    Hi Erin,

    It’s funny…reading all these comments about the makeup part. I’ve never really worn makeup before, so i can’t quite relate to that, BUT the rest of your blog post is something that has been on my mind and heart for quite some time. I’ve been making tweaks here and there to try and simplify my life and make every little bit count.

    It’s been a very hard journey and i have a long way to go, but i just wanted to say thank you for posting this.

    I needed to read it tonight.

Leave a Reply

