Tell It On Tuesday, Marine Corps Style!

As some of you know, I have decided to designate certain days for certain topics on here. For this day, I will call it Tell It on Tuesday! I felt like this would be the perfect week to start because this Tuesday falls on the Marine Corps’ 234th birthday! Why is that important, you wonder? Well, because I was a Marine! In my heart, I still am. :)

best friends :)See me? I am in the lower left corner. We’re cleaning our weapons so they don’t get rusty (it was raining during our hike). I know, I know. I look like a boy. Try to get over it. ;) Still don’t believe me?

oo-rahThere I am! This was taken shortly after basic. Can you tell they buffed me up? ha! This is probably one of my favorite photos taken of me during active duty. I totally miss it!

Who knew that this little girl…

Jake and me

… would go from this sweet little high school senior…

Senior '03 wahoo!!… to T H I S!!

KILL!I know there are differing opinions about everything that has taken place over the last few years. I am not here to say anything other than I am so happy that I served the short amount of time that I did and met the amazing people I did. It was seriously the best time of my life. I would go back if I could. It taught me tons and I feel it brought me closer to this guy…

DadThat would be my daddio. That is him in his apartment in the 70’s I think. He served, also.

Army DadIsn’t there a scary resemblance between us? Eesh. I love him, though, and am glad to call him Dad.

In honor of Veterans Day tomorrow, I also want to stop to say thanks for everyone who has served, no matter what branch or what era, whether we were in conflict or not. I am so grateful to you all and feel proud to say I can be lumped in with the rest of ya! Thank you, thank you, from the deepest parts of my heart.

34 comments
    • You still call me lovely after that post? This is why we’re friends. Ha!

    • You still call me lovely after that post? This is why we are friends. ha!

  1. Love this post and I think you are incredibly awesome for everything in it! I wanted to join the Air Force as a kid, and my family is very largely involved in the Military. Awesome.<3

    • That’s awesome! I am happy that you can appreciate those who have served. :)

  2. skunkboy said:

    Very cool. You should carry these pics around as proof! :)

    Seriously though, people join the Marines for many different reasons, and no matter what the motivation, it doesn’t change the fact that they are heroes. Thanks for being awesome.

    • Thanks! That is such an excellent selection! :-D

  3. MJ said:

    one grandfather is an army vet from ww2 and the other is a navy vet from ww2. i have an uncle who’s a navy vet and two cousins and a future bro in law that are vets from our current war. i am in awe of folks like them and like you who give up everything to protect me and my country and all i can say is kudos to you. :] i’m proud of you and proud to call you a friend :]

    and vivs is right…you are SO lovely :]

  4. craftyfox said:

    I have nothing but respect for people who serve for their country. Everyone does it for their own reasons and who am I or anyone else to stop them? It’s great that you shared this, it just goes to show that you really can’t tell a person’s story by looking at them!!

    Love it and happy birthday Marine Corps!

    • Yay! I am glad you liked this. Thanks so much!

  5. I love finding other girly vets on here. :) I was a Hospital Corpsman in the Navy + just got out in 2007. My husband is still on active duty (also a Corpsman) + we’ve been stationed at Camp Lejeune since 2006, so we’re VERY familiar with Marines. Especially him, since he actually to deploy three times with 3/6. Anyway, happy veteran’s day to you. :) It’s so awesome to find other girls on here that served. Have you used your GI Bill yet? That’s what is putting me through college at the moment. I would have never been able to do it otherwise.

    • Yay! Hello, new friend. :) I haven’t used my GI Bill yet. Can’t decide what I want to when I grow up. haha Happy Veterans Day right back at ya!

  6. Caitlin said:

    Yay Erin! I had no idea you were ever in the military. That is so great. Thanks for everything. :)

    P.s. You totally rocked your BDU’s! :)

    • Thanks! I loved my BDUs. I was in for almost 3 years… it was cut short but I am so thankful for the time I spent. :)

  7. Danielle said:

    that is just too cool girl! what an accomplishment doing that! that must be a great feeling.

    • It is but I have trouble even believing it sometimes. haha

  8. Jamie said:

    Love this post! And I love seeing these pics of you! You are a strong, amazing woman. I’m proud to call you “friend”.

  9. me said:

    I don’t think our generation realizes that we would not have the lives we have today were it not for our armed forces. I mean, it’s hard to see the carnage and gray areas of war and peace will always be an illusive concept when there will always be people who vie for power, but people who sacrificed their lives on this soil and on foreign soil pretty much make it possible for us to have the big mouths we have.

    I have always wanted to buzz my hair completely.

    I think one who serves appreciates the country more. I mean, when you pledge to give your life, how could you not? Not that everyone in the military imagines what they are signing up for. But like it or not, we are indebted.

    • I really appreciate your comment. I do believe that there are people out there who don’t fully understand the help the military has been. Yes, there are mishaps… but you get that everywhere. I didn’t ever have to shave my head, but I did make some other sacrifices to serve and I have never regretted that. I do agree that those who serve have a different perspective of our country and a new appreciation for it, whether or not they signed up for it. :)

  10. hellosweetworld said:

    This rocks! Thanks for sharing and for serving our wonderful country.

    • Oh, no need to thank me. I feel indebted to those still in and those who came before me. :)

  11. Rachel W said:

    Awww!!! I love this blog! And you make me miss the military so much! How long did you serve? Since Dannys still in I have to admit that I get kinda jealous when he leaves for pt in the morning!!

    • Oh, I know! I totally miss it. Will gets up about an hour later than I used to and I have to say… I think I liked that schedule more. :) I was only in 2 years, 8 months due to an injury… but those years were amazing! I am happy you love this. I really do too!

  12. jari said:

    wowza! i love this! thank you so much for everything! and to all women and men in the military and their families! yays! xo.

    • I am really glad you liked this. I loved serving. :)

  13. amy lapi said:

    this is too cool for my heart. you were already a ten, now you’re a twenty. xo and thank you.

  14. Louana said:

    Wow, I am so amazed! You are a powerful and amazing woman, I take my hat off to you.

Leave a Reply

