Happy Birthday, Mom.

Today would have been my mother’s 54th birthday. My family, spread throughout the country, released balloons in celebration of her life. Below are some photos from my release.

 

While shopping, one balloon stuck out among the many “birthday” others. It screamed Carmen. I know she would have picked this one out herself. I could fill up pages about her struggles, her triumphs, and all the memories I shared with her. I love her so very much. While I selfishly wish I could still have her here, I am so thankful I had her for 16 years of my life.

8 comments
  1. Annie said:

    What a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing this and these amazing pictures.

    • It was truly an emotional day. I wanted to share it. :)

  2. LolaDee said:

    This made me so emotional! I Can’t quite describe it but its almost a mix of sadness because you lost your mom but also I’m smiling because what you did to commemorate her is soo beautiful, yet you let her personality shine through, which is amazing. Thank you for sharing this lovely commemoration idea and giving us a sense of who your mother was. Lovely x

    • This is so good to hear! Thank you. I truly feel like I lose little pieces of my mom every day. It’s scary but I know if I share her in my everyday encounters, I can fight to keep her memory alive. :)

  3. Caitlin said:

    This is absolutely beautiful. What a lovely tribute.

  4. this is beautiful, what a lovely way to remember her

    Barnicles xx

    • It really is. My sister came up with the idea and the rest of us followed her lead. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers